OTB example code for DUMMIES

Hi everyone
I am new to OTB, I have background on Machine Learning and computer vision and now try to use OTB to classify geospatial images. (as for a university thesis)

I use OTB inside python notebook, I have tried the example on ‘smoothing’ over Sentinel1 products and it works but then I got frustrated to make a very simple example of ‘TrainVectorClassifier’ or ‘TrainImagesClassifier’:

As far as I understood if I have a tif image and a shapefile containing the polygons (which overlap with the tif file) with associated class to each polygon, I can run TrainImagesClassifier , right?
OR
if I have a sqlite file, I can use TrainVectorClassifier and the related tif (on which I extracted the polygons and their classes) could be used later to ImageClassifier,

Could anyone kindly provide me just a tiff file and its related shapefile or sqlite file?

there are files on the orfeo git but I do not succeed to create an A-to-Z example for myself.

I got ‘QB_1_ortho.tif’ and ‘VectorData_QB1.shp’ and it is not working, then I tried on ‘cupriteSubHsi.tif’ and ‘cuprite_samples.sqlite’ and still I got nowhere.
I tried to install QGIS and use orfeo imported inside the platform but even there I could not make it work.

For the moment if anyone as a response to this S.O.S message :smiley: just could give me an example in python notebook or even only the correct files , he/she would save me from smashing my head to the wall :-)))
Best
Panteha

Hi Panteha,

We have OTB training material (slides, exercises guide and data) that contain some quite simple example (sources of all documentation is available here : https://gitlab.orfeo-toolbox.org/orfeotoolbox/otb-documents/tree/master/Courses/org)

You can download the dataset here : https://www.orfeo-toolbox.org/packages/WorkshopData/
Once unzipped, you will find a classification folder with several Sentinel2 images and vector files :