Unit of spatial radius in segmentation

Hi!

I am quite new with using Orfeo and got a question regarding the unit of the spatial radius which is used for segmentations.

I understand so far that the parameter controls the size of the support window for the segmentation. I also read in the cookbook that the parameter is expressed in radiometry unit. However, I don’t quite understand what that means and would be grateful if somebody cared to explain since my research on that topic has not been very successful so far.

Thank you!

Hi @annima

In the code I can point you this line, which could give you a hint about what you are asking for.
meanShiftVectorizationFilter->GetSegmentationFilter()->SetSpatialBandwidth(spatialRadius);

In the meanshift filter documentation, you can read the following :

/** Sets the spatial bandwidth (or radius in the case of a uniform kernel)
of the neighborhood for each pixel **/
  otbSetObjectMemberMacro(MeanShiftFilter, SpatialBandwidth, RealType);
  otbGetObjectMemberConstReferenceMacro(MeanShiftFilter, SpatialBandwidth, RealType);

/** Sets the spectral bandwidth (or radius for a uniform kernel) for pixels
   to be included in the same mode **/
  otbSetObjectMemberMacro(MeanShiftFilter, RangeBandwidth, RealType);
  otbGetObjectMemberConstReferenceMacro(MeanShiftFilter, RangeBandwidth, RealType);

And furthermore :

The spatial and range radius parameters allow adapting the sensitivity of the algorithm depending on the image dynamic and resolution

So i think the range radius is the spectral radius, which is probably in nm (in terms of image dynamic)
and the spatial radius is the number of neighboors so without a specific unit

I hope it helps a little bit in your path to the answer

Best regards

Dear @annima,

Thank you for using OTB :slight_smile:

I suspect you are confusing spatial and range radius.