Vectorisation quality OTB

Hi,

In a professional context, I have to work with Monteverdi from OTB 7.0.0 to generate a fairly accurate land use layer from a High Resolution orthophoto in infrared color.

I work at the scale of a 10 tiles mosaic generated under GIS.

Under Monteverdi from OTB, I first performed a segmentation (LMSSegmentation tool), then a vectorization (LMSVectorization) to generate my shapefile before starting my classification.
All steps worked correctly except that my vectorization is not homogeneous … some pixels are detected while others are not …

I’m rather beginner in the field, I have some knowledge in remote sensing and in the use of this kind of software but I still have a lot to learn.

Does anyone have any idea where this “error” came from? (photo of the result with my ortho in the background and the result of my vectorization in the foreground (shapefile).

Hello Nico and thank your for using OTB !

I don’t know really your context and don’t understand why you tell “some pixels are detected while others not”. In respect to which criteria ?
Here are some general thoughts that may help you.

1. I think you should work on smaller patches, to test the different parameters and obtain results more quickly

2. What kind of processing do you plan to do ? As I understand, you want to segment an image and then classify the segments. Do you have some ground truth to make a supervised classification (using a Random Forest classifier for instance), or do you plan to make a clustering of your segments ?

3. Maybe you should consider to begin with a pixel based classification, and then gathers pixels together (using segmentation) and assign the major class in each segment ?